What a 48-game Maple Leafs schedule could look like

Today, the National Hockey League announced cancellations of games through December 30. Rather than re-hash all of that, I think it’s fair to look at where the NHL knows that a real shortened season doesn’t at all benefit the game. Gary Bettman said this last week:

So, if we’re to look at a 48-game schedule for the Toronto Maple Leafs, what could it look like? The crack team at The Leafs Nation put together a sample schedule:

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Day Date Opponent
Saturday January 12 @ Montreal Canadiens
Monday January 14 Montreal Canadiens
Tuesday January 15 @ Montreal Canadiens
Thursday January 17 Montreal Canadiens
Saturday January 19 @ Montreal Canadiens
Monday January 21 Montreal Canadiens
Thursday January 24 Buffalo Sabres
Saturday January 26 @ Buffalo Sabres
Sunday January 27 Buffalo Sabres
Tuesday January 29 @ Buffalo Sabres
Thursday January 31 Buffalo Sabres
Saturday February 2 @ Buffalo Sabres
Monday February 4 Boston Bruins
Wednesday February 6 @ Boston Bruins
Saturday February 9 Boston Bruins
Tuesday February 12 @ Boston Bruins
Saturday February 16 Boston Bruins
Monday February 18 @ Boston Bruins
Wednesday February 20 Ottawa Senators
Friday February 22 @ Ottawa Senators
Monday February 25 Ottawa Senators
Wednesday February 27 @ Ottawa Senators
Friday February 29 Ottawa Senators
Saturday March 1 @ Ottawa Senators
Tuesday March 4 @ Montreal Canadiens
Thursday March 6 Montreal Canadiens
Saturday March 8 @ Montreal Canadiens
Tuesday March 11 Montreal Canadiens
Thursday March 13 @ Montreal Canadiens
Saturday March 15 Montreal Canadiens
Tuesday March 18 Buffalo Sabres
Thursday March 20 @ Buffalo Sabres
Saturday March 22 Buffalo Sabres
Monday March 24 @ Buffalo Sabres
Wednesday March 26 Buffalo Sabres
Thursday March 27 @ Buffalo Sabres
Saturday March 29 Boston Bruins
Monday March 31 @ Boston Bruins
Saturday April 5 Boston Bruins
Monday April 7 @ Boston Bruins
Wednesday April 9 Boston Bruins
Thursday April 10 @ Boston Bruins
Saturday April 12 Ottawa Senators
Monday April 14 @ Ottawa Senators
Tuesday April 15 Ottawa Senators
Thursday April 17 @ Ottawa Senators
Saturday April 19 Ottawa Senators
Sunday April 20 @ Ottawa Senators

Lots of Saturday night games here, and lots of games against divisional opponents.

Anyway, that’s just one example.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.